14 May 2013 - Biopsy Solutions is now fully IANZ accredited for Histology and Non- Gynaecological Cytology.

When it comes to your health or the health of your family some decisions are critical.Deciding where your biopsy will go for analysis is one of the most important decisions you and your doctor can make.

We are a specialist provider of high quality biopsy pathology diagnostic services to medical professionals and patients in Auckland.

We are owned and operated by senior New Zealand specialist medical practitioners who have in depth knowledge of the New Zealand healthcare system. We seek to provide innovative and timely services to patients and their caregivers with the aim of improving health outcomes.

Our Vision:

We seek to provide high quality, affordable medical services to the people of New Zealand that contribute to the health and well being of communities resulting in sustainable healthcare

Our Mission:

To support the vision of the New Zealand healthcare system by providing our customers (patients, healthcare professionals and the purchasers of healthcare products and services) with high quality, innovative and affordable biopsy diagnostic services.

Our Values:

1. Collaboration

Operate in a collaborative manner with stakeholders to ensure that the objectives of the NZ healthcare system are met.

2. Professionalism

Maintain a high level of competence. Act at all times with integrity and the highest ethical standards.

3. Community focused

Ensure that decisions and actions contribute to achieving health gains for the NZ community.            

4. Transparency

Work in an open and transparent way so that stakeholders have confidence in the services we supply.

5. Cultural Appropriateness

Act in ways which incorporate the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi and acknowledge cultural diversity.


Countries such as NZ will struggle to meet the ever increasing costs associated with the provision of highquality healthcare. Biopsy Solutions will work with funders and providers to achieve the goal of sustainable, affordable high quality healthcare.

Our pathologists:

Dr Tony Bierre who takes over a major governance and managerial role.

Tony graduated from the University of Auckland School of Medicine in 1977 and trained as a surgical pathologist in Auckland gaining his specialist surgical pathology qualification (FRCPA) in 1983. He then spent 2 years in the USA gaining further experience in surgical pathology and cytopathology at the Duke University Medical Centre in North Carolina and the Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts. He was appointed consultant surgical pathologist to the Royal Melbourne Hospital in 1986 and later at the Royal Hospital for Women in Sydney in 1988.

In 1989 he joined New Zealand’s largest laboratory, Diagnostic Laboratory in Auckland as Director of Surgical Pathology and Cytopathology, overseeing a period of considerable growth. In 2003 he left to pursue other interests graduating MBA from the University of Otago in 2004. Since that time he has been involved in a number of pathology, business and governance roles including an elected Board Member of the Auckland District Health Board. In 2007 he was awarded the NZ Special Services Medal.


Dr Fergus Oliver

Dr Fergus Oliver undertook his medical school training in Auckland. Following two years in Dunedin he returned to Auckland to complete his physician training and then to achieve initial training in dermatology. From here he moved to complete advanced dematology training, and a Dermatopatholoy Fellowship at the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota, USA and then St John's Hospital for diseases of the Skin in London, UK.

On returning to New Zealand he commenced work in private practice and in the public sector for the ADHB. His role has involved dermatology consultation, dermatological surgery and Mohs surgery in both sectors. He has also provided dermatopathology consultation at Labplus and in private initially at Medlab, then Diagnostic Medlab and now Labtests and Biopsy Solutions.

He has previously been Chair of the Specialist Advisory Committee for Dermatology, President of the Australasian Dermatopathology Society and Clinical Director of Dermatology at the ADHB.